top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Quinoa Enchilada Casserole


Even though I am 100% behind the 80/20 mentality, that doesn't mean I won't try to lighten or to clean up one of my favorite foods. And growing up in a Mexican/American household, there are few things better than enchiladas. However, I have been known to eat four in one sitting, which isn't exactly portion control. So I decided to lighten up my Dad's enchilada recipe and add a twist of my own.

Personally, my favorite enchiladas are enchiladas rojas. Red enchiladas. Especially when they are filled with just cheese and onions, that was my Grandmother's best recipe. How I also know how important protein is in my active lifestyle. So I created the following:

Quinoa Enchilada Casserole

Oven Temperature: 350°

Servings: 6

2 cups cooked quinoa, cooked with low sodium chicken broth instead of water

3 cups cooked shredded chicken

1 cup Trader Joe's Roasted Frozen Corn

3/4 cup diced onions

1 10 oz. can Las Palmas Medium Enchilada Sauce (I used red, but green is fine)

3/4 cup shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheese

  1. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the quinoa, chicken, corn, onions and the enchilada sauce. Stir slowly at first so you don't slosh the sauce everywhere. Mix until really combined. If you need to, open another can of enchilada sauce, but don't add too much, you want it to be just moist.

  2. Mix in 1/2 of the cheese mixture into the quinoa and chicken mix.

  3. Transfer into a baking dish (I sprayed mine with coconut oil spray) and top with the remaining amount of cheese.

  4. Bake at 350° until bubbly and the cheese has melted. Make sure to let it sit at least 5 minutes before serving.

Because this makes 6 servings, I have lunches or dinners for 6 days, that was until I bought in a few servings for my coworkers (share the love!).

Servings are not large, I am not going to lie, but eat it slowly. I served mine with fresh pico de gallo, a handful of diced olives and shredded lettuce as a garnish...and maybe a dollop of full fat or 2% plain greek yogurt.

You can use avocado, but I used my blue container for cheese (the struggle is real isn't it Fixers...) Serve alongside sautéed veggies or a nice chopped Mexican salad.

Want to know how this fits into my 21 Day Fix lifestyle? Comment below or send me a message.

bottom of page